border top

Marty Prairie and Honoring the Red Ribbon Award

Marty Prairie

Marty Lynn Prairie

Marty Lynn Prairie (Oglala Lakota Sioux) was a was a long-term survivor of HIV/AIDS, dedicated HIV/AIDS prevention educator and ally of NNAAPC. Originally from the Pine Ridge Reservation, he was a descendant of Chief Big Foot of the Hunkpapa Nation. Marty aimed to inform youth and alert elders about the HIV/AIDS epidemic in hopes to avoid future outbreak on the reservations and among all Native Americans throughout the land. With his tireless commitment to HIV/AIDS education and prevention in Indian Country and throughout the United States he became a well-known HIV/AIDS, LGBT and harm reduction advocate. Marty’s commitment to action, strong voice, and fearless leadership within the Native community inspired NNAAPC to honor his legacy by presenting an annual award to a Native American community member who demonstrates action, voice, and leadership in the fight against HIV/AIDS. The award was called the Marty Prairie Award for many years and the name was changed to Honoring the Red Ribbon Award in 2010. The award will continue to be given in memory and honor of Marty Prairie and those who give of themselves to fight against this epidemic.

Past award recipients include:

~ 2014 ~



~ 2013 ~
Tommy Chesbro (Cherokee/ Lumbee/ African American/ Caucasian)


~ 2012 ~
Sharon M. Day (Ojibwe)
Co-Founder & Excutive Director of the Indigenous Peoples Task Force


~ 2011 ~
Niki Webster-Graham (Salish) 
Program Director for the Center for Prevention and Wellness (CPW),
Salish Kootenai College


~ 2010 ~
Elton Naswood (Diné) 
Program Coordinator for the Red Circle Project, AIDS Project Los Angeles


~ 2009 ~
Freddie “Don” Little (Absentee Shawnee/Seminole) 
Member and Past Chair of the Oklahoma Native American AIDS Coalition and 2010 


~ 2008 ~
Trudie Jackson (Diné)
Underserved Population Prevention Specialist for Southwest Center for HIV/AIDS


~ 2007 ~
Marie Kirk (Isleta-Pueblo)
HIV/AIDS Prevention Coordinator for Albuquerque Area Indian Health Board


~ 2006 ~
Marthalena Antone (Tohono O'odham)
O’odham Department of Human Services


~ 2005 ~
Carol Maka’ina’i (Native Hawaiian)
Director of the Native Hawaiian HIV Case Management Program
Life Foundation


~ 2004 ~
Kory Montoya (Jicarilla Apache)
PLWH/A and Community Advocate


~ 2003 ~
Gloria Bellymule-Zuniga (Cheyenne)
Creator of the Ahalaya HIV Case Management Model


~ 2002 ~
Melvin Harrison (Diné)
Founder and Executive Director of Navajo AIDS Network


~ 2001 ~
Ron Rowell (Choctaw)
Founder of NNAAPC

border bottom